Follow a novice cook on her way to great Asian foodom!

Giant Coconut Macaroons

Happy Holidays! I wanted to wish each and every single one of my readers a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Are you done with all the shopping and holiday preparations? I don’t plan on braving the street today much, except to eat at a Brazilian steak house tonight, where the wait staff walk around with skewers of assortments of meat and we stuff our faces until we can’t move… Sounds delightful right?

If you are looking for a super simple Christmas food present to give, I have a great recipe to share. I’ve started making giant coconut macaroons since last Christmas, they were pretty good but not moist enough, the funny thing is I followed the Mexican tres leches recipe, which you would imagined would be super juicy with 3 milk’s involvement. Anyway this year I stumbled across a recipe in Food & Wine magazine, after a little modification, the giant macaroons turned out moist and fabulous. Hope you will enjoy it and let me know how you like them!

Ingredients:

  • 2 14oz bag of sweetened coconut flakes
  • 1  14oz can of condensed milk
  • 14 oz of sour cream
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1tsp almond extract
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2tsp salt

Instructions:

  • Prep the baking pan with parchment paper or non-stick aluminum foil, I used cupcake cups for easier handling and gift giving
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Pour the coconut flakes into 1 large mixing bowl
  • Pour the vanilla and almond extract into the condensed milk can and mix well
  • Mix condensed milk and sour cream into the coconut flakes, make sure they are distributed evenly
  • Add the salt into the egg white and beat (with a electric mixer) vigorously until it foams and harden, this process took about 4-5 minutes on high
  • Fold the egg white foam into the coconut flake mixture
  • Use your hand or an ice cream scooper, form the coconut mixture into large ball shapes, mine are about 1.5 inch in diameter, this batch makes around 24 macaroons
  • Bake the macaroons for 30 minutes, at 15 minute mark, switch the pan on the top shelf with the bottom, front and back to make sure even heat distribution.

Optional: You can choose to drizzle the finished macaroons with dark or white chocolate to make them even more festive! Happy Holidays!

 

 

Comments on: "Giant Coconut Macaroons" (14)

  1. Jeno, Brazilian steak house sounds terrific!
    Your coconut macaroons look luscious and remind me of coconut biscuits I make with only three ingredients (egg whites, sugar and coconut). Your look much more complex (when you called yourself lately a novice baker I knew you were just joking!) You and I’m sure their taste is fantastic! I must try “complicating” mine one day and add the condensed milk and almonds! Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Sissi! Just got back home from Brazilian steak house, it was yummy and I am glad we didn’t overdo it this time around!
      Thank you so much for the compliments! I really am a novice baker, as you can see most of my dishes do not require an over. Your coconut biscuits sound fab, egg whites seem to really pull the flavor together!

  2. Wow, these look awesome! I can’t believe you used sour cream to make them! 8O I also make coconut macaroons this year, but just from coconut, egg whites, and suger.

    Merry Christmas and happy holidays, Jeno!

    • Hi Kath! Your coconut macaroons sounds like Sissi (with a glass)’s coconut biscuits recipe! I’ve not made my macaroons with sugar before, last year I used condensed milk, heavy cream and sour cream, but not nearly as moist as this recipe…
      Happy Holidays and enjoy time with your family!

  3. Happy Holidays too, Jeno! Hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas! :D
    I’ve seen a lot of macaroons around, all so cute and colorful. Yours are so much bigger in size and seem very, a lot easier to bake (majority of them say there’re certain tips and ways to bake the perfect macaroons)! ;)
    I must get myself a mixer soon! LOL

    • Hi Lyn! Happy Holidays! Yes you should definitely get a mixer, they are fairly inexpensive unless you want to get a semi-professional one. I used my cheap mixer to beat the egg white and it did a good job, the problem was I didn’t mix all the rest of the ingredients with the coconuts first, so by the time I was done with that, the egg white kind of got liquidy again. The macaroons came out great anyway, but I did make sure to specify the steps in the recipe. Hope you will give it a try and let me know whether you like it!

  4. YUM! Love coconut and hehe this recipe seems easy enough for me to try :) Hope you had a great Christmas! Happy holidays!

    • Hello Daisy! Thank you for the compliments! The macaroons were GONE the night of our Christmas Eve Potluck party, I was surprised because not everyone’s a coconut fan. Hope you had a great Christmas also, Happy New Year!

      • I know what you mean! Some of my friends loathes it hahaha as a matter of fact my boyfriend isn’t a fan of coconut either but its one of my fave!!! lol I’ve had a great Xmas :) Happy New Year in advance and hope you have a wonderful year ahead of you! Keep up with the great posts!

  5. Thank you Daisy! Looks like you had a great Christmas feast also, looking forward to see more from you too!

  6. Happy Holidays, Cindy — dropping in from Nami’s blog :)

    I love coconut macaroons — this definitely are drool-worthy!!

    • Hi Kiran! Thank you for dropping by my little blog! Happy Holidays to you too, I appreciate your comment! Just “liked” your FB page, what fabulous photos! Can’t wait to see more!

  7. I’ve missed this post and just saw this email. I love coconut macaroons, and this one is GIANT!? YUM!!! Earlier today we went to Costco and saw coconut macaroons (plain one and half covered with chocolate). I almost reach the box and my mom reminded me that I’m on diet to lose weight. DUHHHHHHH! I love coconut and this post even made me want to eat it more. Big craving has started…. >_<

    • Hi Nami! If you look up the nutritional info on macaroons, they are really not as bad as the rest of the pastries we see often. Yes these are pretty giant, I ate a few and gave away a lot of friends and neighbors, even though they are not super high in fat and calories, I still can’t have this deliciousness laying around the house tempting me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

